What is SnapChat?
Snapchat is a popular phone app among tweens/teens that allows them to share photos “snaps” spontaneously that then theoretically disappear within 10 seconds. Unfortunately, Snapchat has become known as the sexting app. When kids send a Snapchat image they may get a false sense of security that their photos will disappear. But, they need to know that photos can be saved by a screenshot or by someone using their phone to take a photograph of the image without the person that took the photo knowing. This photo can then be shared with others. If it’s an inappropriate image that is sent to others, the consequences can be devastating.
Also, snaps don’t actually disappear. They are hidden and deleted images can be restored on Android devices. So the best way to prevent the consequences of having an inappropriate image from going viral, is not to take it in the first place!
Snapchat: Age Requirement: 13 years old
Snapkidz is available for children under13 years old and does not allow kids to send or receive photos.
Snapchat Settings to Increase Privacy:
Increase your “privacy” by specifying that you want only your friends to see your images. (Remember though, that your so deemed “friend” may copy and send that image to someone that’s not your friend.)
To Select Friends Only:
- go to the settings menu in the application,
- select “Who can send me snaps…”,
- then select “My Friends” instead of “Everyone.”
Block a User:
- Tap the Menu icon, select “My Friends,” locate
their name in the list and swipe right across their name (or in
Android, long press the name).
- Press “Edit” and then “Block.”
To Delete a “User”:
- Press “Delete.” Even if you haven’t added the user as a friend, their
name will still appear in the “My Friends” list under “Recent” if
they have sent you a message recently.